Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: The future of our genre  (Read 8407 times)

Sonic Whammy

The future of our genre
« on: July 18, 2005, 02:36:14 PM »
Hey guys. Being that this is the one stop shop, I want to get some serious opinions from a lot of you and see if this is just me, or if the feeling is widely mutual.

Last week, I received a rejection notice from Millionaire. It's the most recent in a long line of rejections from Millionaire and Amazing Race in the last 6 years. And it's getting me a little frustrated. And before you start breaking out the violins on me, hear me out.

I have a literal double Whammy working against me. First, I'm from Jersey, which means Millionaire and the new Ken Jennings show (which I failed the test for) are the only games in town. Anything else, I'd have to pay out of pocket to go to LA with no guarantees (plus a working knowledge that I'm not a strong Jeopardy player). Second, I'm a teacher, non-tenured at that. So, I'm putting myself at risk with every attempt. And just imagine if I get on, especially with the Race...

It gets me so frustrated because anyone that is just getting to know me will always ask why I never go on a game show (read: Jeopardy), and anyone that really knows me keeps telling me I've got my whole life to get on these shows. The thing they all forget is that most TV executives today can't or won't keep shows on forever. I got news for you: Chances are that if I'm lucky enough to have tenure in a couple years, the same shows that are on now WON'T be on in 5 years. And given the way that game shows are deteriorating on TV, I don't like the prospect of the future.

So this brings me to my questions for all of you:

> Am I right in busting my butt for these shows now?
> What exactly do YOU see for the genre in 5, 10 or 15 years?
> Will any current shows still be on in the times I mentioned?
> Will the shows that come on in the future be worth watching?