Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Better to be a Loser?  (Read 3950 times)

parliboy

• Which of my enemies told you I was paranoid?
Better to be a Loser?
« Reply #30 on: June 09, 2004, 12:22:19 AM »
Since he completely recovered his drive, and he said the problem was easy to fix, my money's on an NT Loader problem.  I was doing a dual boot with XP and Mandrake a couple of years back and had problems when I uninstalled Mandrake's loader.  Someting went screwy with XP's loader and it had similar symptoms.
"You're never ready, just less unprepared."

Brandon Brooks

Better to be a Loser?
« Reply #31 on: June 09, 2004, 12:25:29 AM »
[quote name=\'clemon79\' date=\'Jun 8 2004, 11:05 PM\'] What was the fix, tho? [/quote]
IIRC, I had to put in the Recovery disk and overwrite some files on the HD.  I guess it was a BIOS problem.  Took a little while to complete, but was relatively simple.

(I admit that I'm not an expert with computers.  But I used to be a computer science major, and my inquisitive nature likes to sometimes fool around with things.)

So, it really infuriated me to find out that I didn't need to buy another hard drive at all.

Since he completely recovered his drive, and he said the problem was easy to fix, my money's on an NT Loader problem. I was doing a dual boot with XP and Mandrake a couple of years back and had problems when I uninstalled Mandrake's loader. Someting went screwy with XP's loader and it had similar symptoms.
I'm almost certain that's what it was.

Brandon Brooks
« Last Edit: June 09, 2004, 12:28:39 AM by Brandon Brooks »

aaron sica

Better to be a Loser?
« Reply #32 on: June 09, 2004, 08:46:31 AM »
*Jumps on soapbox*