Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: $100,000 Pyramid question  (Read 1620 times)

SplitSecond

  • Guest
$100,000 Pyramid question
« on: February 06, 2004, 10:28:35 PM »
Today on GSN, at the conclusion of one of the $100,000 Pyramid tournaments, Dick Clark mentioned to a tournament contestant that she would be back on the next show because she was the reigning champion before regular play was interrupted by the tournament, and could even qualify herself for another tournament.

My question is, did anybody ever accomplish this feat of luck and skill and qualify themselves for two separate tournaments?

zachhoran

  • Member
  • Posts: 0
$100,000 Pyramid question
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2004, 11:11:35 PM »
[quote name=\'SplitSecond\' date=\'Feb 6 2004, 10:28 PM\'] Today on GSN, at the conclusion of one of the $100,000 Pyramid tournaments, Dick Clark mentioned to a tournament contestant that she would be back on the next show because she was the reigning champion before regular play was interrupted by the tournament, and could even qualify herself for another tournament.

My question is, did anybody ever accomplish this feat of luck and skill and qualify themselves for two separate tournaments? [/quote]
 I don't think anyone ever did make two tourneys.

Kevin Prather

  • Member
  • Posts: 5933
$100,000 Pyramid question
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2004, 11:57:32 PM »
If the reigning champ was in the tournament, and s/he won the $100K, would s/he still return after the tournament?

Jay Temple

  • Member
  • Posts: 2227
$100,000 Pyramid question
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2004, 12:51:14 AM »
No one on the Clark version was able to get a good enough time the second time around.  On the Davidson version, I remember him telling a contestant that she would not be eligible for the next tournament.  (I think a better rule would have to limit them to winning one tournament.)
Protecting idiots from themselves just leads to more idiots.

Robert Hutchinson

  • Member
  • Posts: 2334
$100,000 Pyramid question
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2004, 06:02:07 AM »
[quote name=\'Jay Temple\' date=\'Feb 7 2004, 12:51 AM\'](I think a better rule would have to limit them to winning one tournament.)[/quote]
I don't, just because it would be conferring an extra benefit to only a few randomly lucky contestants of having a chance to make two tournaments instead of one. I think Davidson's version had it right.
Visit my CB radio at www.twitter.com/ertchin