Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: What are your favorite opening spiels  (Read 16423 times)

danderson

What are your favorite opening spiels
« on: September 24, 2015, 09:54:32 PM »
since this is my first time staring a new topic.. what are your favorite opening spiels over the years? my two favorites would have to be Don Morrow on the Challengers or John Harlan on American Gladiators i guess those were two of my favorites(what i liked about Mr. Harlan's intro on AG was the way he introduced both the gladiators and Adamle and whoever his co-host was(either Todd Christensen or Larry Csonka) and the contenders) i could say the same thing about Mr. Morrow and the way he introed Dick Clark too as well as the contestants that made me think highly of both of those guys as announcers
« Last Edit: September 24, 2015, 10:46:10 PM by danderson »

Esoteric Eric

Re: What are your favorite opening spiels
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 02:21:07 AM »
#1:  Whew! / Rod Roddy

"CLOSE CALLS!!!... NARROW ESCAPES!!!... SPLIT-SECOND DECISIONS!!! ...AND $25,000 IN CASH!!! It's a combination GUARANTEED to make you SAY... WHEW!..."

#2: $ale of the Century / Jay Stewart (Winner's Board Era)

(Something like...) <drum roll> "So far, champion Terry Howard has won cash and prizes totaling... $47,295!!!" <theme music>

#3: $10,000 Pyramid / Bob Clayton (original opening; don't recall it exactly, but it's "Keep your eye on this spot..." or something like that)
Eric Smallman; "...I don't think God ever forgave me for Phyllis Newman..." - "Jimmy Carter" (Dan Aykroyd), SNL, 1976

aaron sica

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 09:39:49 AM »
I didn't realize it until this week when they brought them back, but I missed all of the messages on TPiR - "HOUR POWER", etc.

TimK2003

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 10:36:37 AM »
Some of my faves:

1) Whew!

2) (The New) Treasure Hunt